#### **Pension Fund Committee**

Meeting to be held on 7 June 2013

Electoral Division affected: None

Constitution: Chair, Deputy Chair and Terms of Reference

Contact for further information: Chris Mather, 01772 533559, Office of the Chief Executive, Chris.mather@lancashire.gov.uk

## **Executive Summary and Recommendation**

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. the appointment of County Councillors T Burns and M Parkinson as Chair and Deputy Chair respectively of the Pension Fund Committee for the 2013/14 municipal year.
- ii. the appointment of County Councillors M Parkinson and T Burns as Chair and Deputy Chair respectively of the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee for the 2013/14 municipal year
- iii. the membership of the Pension Fund Committee and the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee.
- iv. the Terms of Reference of the Pension Fund Committee and the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee.

### **Background**

#### 1. Pension Fund Committee

The County Council at its annual meeting on 23 May 2013 agreed that the Pension Fund Committee shall comprise 14 County Councillors (on the basis of 6 Labour members, 6 Conservative members, 1 Liberal Democrat member and 1 Independent member) and 7 co-opted voting members.

The following County Councillors have subsequently been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Committee for the following year:

#### **County Councillors (14):**

L Beavers J Oakes
T Burns M Parkinson
D Borrow S Perkins



M Brindle K Sedgewick
J Gibson D Westley
K Iddon P White
J Lawrenson B Yates

The following voting co-optees have been nominated to serve on the Committee:

## Voting co-opted members (7)

Lancashire Unitary Authorities:

Councillor M Smith (Blackpool Council)
Councillor D Walsh (Blackburn with Darwen Borough
Council)

**Lancashire District Councils:** 

Councillor P Leadbetter (Chorley Borough Council)
Councillor I Grant (West Lancashire Borough Council)

Trade Union representatives:

Mr B Harvey Mr R Whittle

Higher Education/Further Education establishments:

J McCann

The Full Council appointed County Councillor T Burns and County Councillor M Parkinson as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Pension Fund Committee for the 2013/14 municipal year.

A copy of the Committee's Terms of Reference are attached at Appendix 'A'.

## 2. Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee

The County Council at its annual meeting on 23 May 2013 agreed that the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee shall comprise 5 County Councillors (on the basis of 2 Labour members, 2 Conservative members and 1 Liberal Democrat member) and 2 co-opted voting members.

The following County Councillors have subsequently been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee for the following year:

## **County Councillors (5):**

M Brindle M Parkinson T Burns D Westley

J Lawrenson

The following voting co-optees have been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee:

# Voting co-opted members (2)

Councillor M Smith (Blackpool Council) Mr B Harvey (Trade Union representative)

The Full Council appointed County Councillor M Parkinson and County Councillor Burns as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee for the 2013/14 municipal year.		
A copy of the Sub-Committee's Terms of Reference are attached at Appendix 'B'.		
Consultations		
N/A		
Implications:		
This item has the following implications, as indicated:		
Risk Management		
No significant risks have been identified.		
Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers		
Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Tel
N/A		
Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate		
N/A		